The Culling of Time (or How I n00b’d it up in Strat)

I logged into my rogue Monday to do my dailies and got a tell from a friend “You guys got any DPS for timed CoS?” Of course, I immediately asked the most needy person in the guild….

(OK so <—— was actually the next thing I typed)

I get my summons and go on my merry way. The group was a PUG prot warrior, my friend the healer (23/48 priest – yay for my old spec!), another rogue from our guild and an enhancement shaman (also a friend). All melee… woah!

The run went great (if you ignore the fact that an enhancement shaman was beating me by about 200 DPS on the meters) right up till the end – when it was still going great for everyone but me. I’ve never really done a timed run, I’ve made a few attempts at one but something always happened and before the 2nd boss we would know it would be fruitless to continue rushing.

Anyhow, we got to the last stop arthas makes before Mal’Ganis when I noticed he had stopped and the rest of the group kept on a truckin’ So me being the thoughtful player I am, talked to him so he could catch up to the others.

It was then that I noticed the others HAD GONE THE WRONG WAY!!! OH EM GEE!! So, I’m all like “HEY, YOU GUUUUYSSS” (in true goonies style of course) “it’s this way… quick arthas is getting pwnd!” So my friend, the smart mouth, is like “no raiv he’s this way”.

Right about now is when it dawned on me… Mal’Ganis doesn’t drop the mount… it’s a special mob (shut up Chromie I don’t want to hear your “I told you so” anymore).

UGH.

Two seconds later I get an achievement, “The Culling of Time” (my second realization of what a noob I was because I’ve read this stupid thing like a bajillion times).

Immediately followed by my death.

I was out of range of the kill, so I didn’t get to roll on the mount. *sad panda*

That’s not it folks. Yeah, I know its kinda hard to be a tool at this point in the run… AMIRITE?

Some leather bracers dropped off the boss, which I only half glanced at and saw one or two stats that were melee-ish. I’m like asking the other rogue “care if I need on those with you?” I mean, my rogue is technically not my main anymore so I didn’t want to be rude now did I?

His response was a bit puzzling to me… “I needed them?” I’m thinking… hmm his bracers are less better (yes, I said less better) than mine… why wouldn’t he need those???! Maybe it’s because he’s a LW and he’s planning on crafting something better…

Thankfully I took a second look (and noticed everyone else greeding them as well) at them before making a ninja out of myself. I was thinking they were the epic leather bracers that drop in H-HoL…

Whew. I did manage to win the frost orb though!