Tiny Priest on Glyphs

With the coming changes to the Dispel Magic Glyph, and the possibility of a respec on the horizon, I thought it time to rethink my glyph choices. Right now, as a level 77 Holy Priest I am using the Glyph of Dispel Magic and the Glyph of Flash Heal in my Major Glyph slots. I have the Glyph of Spirit of Redemption waiting in the wings (read: bank) when I ding 80. My minor glyphs are the fortitude, shadow protection and levitate glyphs.

Here’s a List of Glyphs I find useful as a healing priest:

Major

 Glyph of Dispel Magic – Your Dispel Magic spell also heals your target for 6% of maximum health.

Glyph of Holy Nova – Your Holy Nova spell heals for an additional 40%, but deals 40% less damage.

Glyph of Flash Heal – Reduces the mana cost of your Flash Heal by 10%.

Glyph of Power Word: Shield – Your Power Word: Shield also heals the target for 20% of the absorption amount.

Glyph of Prayer of Healing – Your Prayer of Healing spell also heals an additional 20% of its initial heal over 6 sec.

Glyph of Spirit of Redemption – All heals cast while Spirit of Redemption is active have a 20% chance to increase the remaining duration of Spirit of Redemption by 5 sec.

Minor

Glyph of Fortitude – Reduces the mana cost of your Power Word: Fortitude and Prayer of Fortitude spells by 50%.

Glyph of Levitate – Your Levitate spell no longer requires a reagent.

Glyph of Shadow Protection – Increases the duration of your Shadow Protection and Prayer of Shadow Protection spells by 10 min.

Glyph of Shadowfiend (- Receive 5% of your maximum mana if your Shadowfiend dies from damage.

 

[Tiny Irate Priest’s rant]

I love(d) the Glyph of Dispel Magic! Seriously, I cast DM all the time. This lil puppy made it like a insta-mini-flash heal! And it can CRIT!!! I’m none too happy about the nerf from 6% to 3%, I mean come on… 1500 –1800 is not that much on a tank with 25 – 30k health. If I stay Holy I might just replace it with the Holy Nova or PoH glyph to help compensate for the upcoming CoH 6 sec cooldown.

 

[Tiny Irate Priest’s tangent]

Why o why are they putting a CD on CoH????! WHY I ASK YOU??? Yes, I know Druids are getting a CD on their new Wild Growth talent because people are worried it ruins Chain Healing or some such RUBBISH (which btw it totally doesn’t… so say the trees). We’ve had CoH for over a year now… it’s been fine w/out a cooldown all that time.

[/end tangent] [/end rant]

 I may drop my minor Glyph of Shadow Protection in favor of the Shadowfiend Glyph. I originally thought to use the friend glyph, but then another priest says “how often does your shadowfiend really die from damage?” “Rarely”, was my disheartened reply. Then yesterday, I was reading the “Discipline Priest PVE Healing F.A.Q” over on DiscPriest.com and there was a really good point in there regarding the friend glyph. As follows:

Glyph of Shadowfiend – This minor glyph that i would consider fairly major (pun intended). We all know that shadowfiend may sometimes die when we would prefer it not to. This glyph will return 5% of your maximum mana when your shadowfiend dies from damage. This is obviously good for us since our maximum mana pools are typically large, due to our focus on intellect. This can actually be beneficial in another way, as you can wait until your shadowfiend duration is almost over ANYWAYS, and then attempt to position it where it will die from something. This tactic can be extremely rewarding if you can manage to pull it off correctly.

HMMM. A very good idea, I just dunno if I can pull it off… I have a (bad) habit of only needing/using my friend when I’m very desperate… Either way it is worth a try.

I’m fairly content with the other two minor glyph choices.

 Let’s take a look at major glyphs, first from a holy spec view, then from a disc spec view.

 Glyph of Flash Heal – Almost a must have, or so I thought before I started leveling my priest. I’m finding, as a holy priest in LK, I cast FH less and less. Haste has made GH all the more appealing. In BC I only cast Greaters between pulls; during combat I went around flashing everyone (no not that kind of flash). I will probably keep this until I hit 80 and start healing raids, then I can judge by how much I use flash at that point.

 Glyph of Dispel Magic – I hate the purple highlighted unit frames! I also hated loosing heal time to the 1.5s GCD after casting Dispel Magic. This little gem was like manna from the heavens. I say was… don’t make me go there again, just scroll up if you need a refresher.

 Glyph of Spirit of Redemption – 1 in 5 chance to extend your SoR by 5 seconds. I don’t think I need to say much more about how vital those extra five seconds (or possible multiple five seconds given there doesn’t “appear” to be an internal CD) could be.

 Glyph of Holy Nova – This glyph makes HN surpass CoH in HPS and also in HPM up till about 2k SP (see the PlusHeal forums for more info). Yay! That should help deal with the incoming nerf to CoH AMIRITE??!? Not really, HN still has crap range. The last place I want to be is a measly 15 yards away from my MT (read: the BOSS). It also still only works for people in your party. Meh, but still worth consideration (maybe because I’ve always thought HN was just fun to jump spam with).

 Glyph of Prayer of Healing – This Glyph makes an already efficient heal even more so. With this glyph PoH becomes the run away winner in terms of total healing done, HPS and HPM. The only problem with PoH is that it takes so farging long to cast! With enough haste (or lucky trinket procs) this weakness can be minimized.

**note there is a CoH glyph, but I do not find it necessary to heal an extra person with a raid – wide, smart target heal. YMMV

***also of note is that it’s the author’s opinion that the Shield glyph is a total waste for a holy priest.

The discipline spec perspective is somewhat different.

 Glyph of Shield – This is THE disc priest glyph. If you are a disc priest and you don’t have this, then I would probably be forced to think you were nutso unless you had a VERY good explanation.

 Glyph of Flash Heal – some disc priests use FH as their main heal when penance is on CD and they aren’t shielding someone. I have yet to play my priest as disc long enough in LK to make an educated response to this. My initial thoughts after reading up on the disc play style is that I would probably use GH instead of FH. However, field work needs to be done here in a raid environment for me to make a final decision.

 Glyph of Dispel Magic – I dunno, it seems with the loss of CoH as disc, you may want to go w/either the HN or the PoH glyph for those tight spots when you have no choice but to group heal. If you are never called upon to use group heal (or don’t need AoE heals to do so), then I would take this Glyph (don’t get me started on the nerf).

 Glyphs of HN and PoH – see info above, relate it to your play style, do some in game testing… decide.

 Tiny, sometimes irate priest signing off for now.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment